About me

Translated to english with Google Translate

One simple, but it is a very effective method for optimizing the rendering is to use a shader type mip_rayswitch. There are a few of these shaders, for example mip_rayswitch, mip_rayswitch_advanced, p_ray_type, ray_rype and ctrl.rays. But the essence is not changed, they all work the same way.
Depending on the type of ray switching between different shaders. For example if you need to be considered a reflection, then render blue shader, and if the refraction or final gather, then red. In this case, a direct view of the shader may be a different color.
Do different color shader for reflection and refraction... certainly interesting, but why? "In everyday life" it may be useful to reduce the color bleeding, by replacing a shader for ray final gather at a less intense color. This, too, everything is fine and working, but this article will focus on the use of these shaders a bit for other purposes, such as optimizing the rendering.

The essence is very simple.
For example we have a car showroom, where there are materials leather, plastic, metal and etc.. Almost everyone has occlusion, blurred reflection, and bump. The result suits us, but we see that such a shader does not work quickly. And it would be necessary also to render the animation ...

infniti gcoupe smooth shade

To begin, we choose the complex shader, which occupies the largest area in the scene. And assign to these objects mip_rayswitch shader. In mip_rayswitch shader we connect our complex shader to main slot. Then create a copy of our complex shader, but without the bump, occlusion and reflection (usually just a lambert) and connect it to 'final gather' and 'reflection' slots. As a result, we obtain that in a highly blurred reflection, will see a simple shader. It also will be visible for FG. Since the reflection blurred, it will not be visible lack of bump, occlusion, and often even reflection on reflected objects. But if you still see places without any effect, you can leave it, but with lower quality settings, such as occlusion can put a smaller number of rays.

ray_type graph before
Original graph of complex shader

ray_type graph
Graph with mip_rayswitch optimization

rayswitch AE

This trick can be done with all the basic shaders.
As a result, can significantly reduce render times. A final gather when you use this trick often less "noisy". In this case, the result image is almost unchanged.

For example, rendering time for the next image in 1000x720 resolution decreased from 51m43s to 35m40s after using mip_rayswitch on 6 basic materials.
As we see, time has decreased by 30%. The second picture is not showing because it is practically the same.

infniti gcoupe result
Infiniti GCoupe

The final result of the animation can be viewed at
The project was implemented in order creative agency Red Keds for Infiniti.

Send your questions, and suggestions to

image

Новости
Уроки и статьи
Загрузка
Обо мне
Ссылки

Switch to English
Одним из простых, но при это очень действенном методе оптимизации рендера является использование шейдеров типа mip_rayswitch. Подобных шейдеров существует несколько, например mip_rayswitch, mip_rayswitch_advanced, p_ray_type, ray_rype и ctrl.rays. Но суть не меняется, все они работают похожим образом.
В зависимости от типа луча переключаются между разными шейдерами. Например если нужно считать отражение, то рендерим синий шейдер, а если преломление или final gather, то красный. При этом в прямой видимости шейдер может быть другого цвета.
Делать разноцветные шейдера для отражения и преломления... конечно интересно, но зачем?
"В быту" это может пригодится для убавления колор блидинга (переносе цвета объекта), путем замены шейдера для лучей final gather на менее интенсивный цвет.
Это тоже все хорошо и работает, но в данной статье речь пойдет об использования подобных шейдеров немного для других целей, таких как оптимизация рендера.

Суть очень проста.
Например у нас есть салон автомобиля, где присутствуют материалы кожи, пластика, металла и тп. Почти везде используется окклюжен, размытое отражение и бамп. Результат нас устраивает, но видим, что такие шейдера работает не быстро. А надо бы еще и анимацию просчитать...

infniti gcoupe smooth shade

Для начала мы выбираем шейдер, которые занимает наибольшую площадь в сцене. И назначаем на эти объекты mip_rayswitch шейдер. К нему на основной слот подсоединяем наш сложный шейдер. Потом на слот 'final gather' и 'reflection' подсоединяем его копию, но уже без бампа, окклюжена и отражения (обычно просто lambert). В итоге получится, что в отражение, которое у нас сильно размытое, будет виден простой шейдер. Так же он будет виден и для FG. Так как отражение сильно размыто, в нем не будет видно отсутствие бампа, окклюжена и часто даже отражения. Но, если у вас все же видно отсуствие какого-нибудь эффекта, то можно его оставить, но с более низкими настройками качества, например для окклюжена можно поставить меньшее количество лучей.

ray_type graph before
Оригинальный граф сложного шейдера

ray_type graph
Граф после добавления mip_rayswitch

rayswitch AE
mip_rayswitch

Такой трюк можно проделать со всеми основными шейдерами.
В результате можно существенно сократить время рендера. А final gather при использовании подобного трюка часто еще и меньше "шумит". При этом картинка почти не меняется.

Например, время рендера следующей картинки в разрешение 1000x720 уменьшилось с 51m43s до 35m40s после использования mip_rayswitch на 6 основных материалах.
Как мы видим, время сократилось на 30%. Вторую картинку не показываю, поскольку она практически такая же.

infniti gcoupe result
Infiniti GCoupe

Конечный результат в анимации можно посмотреть на сайте www.infiniti-lab.ru
Проект реализован по заказу креативного агентства Red Keds для Infiniti.

Свои вопросы, предложения и пожелания прошу на puppet@rambler.ru
Удачи!
Ваш Puppet.